Sugaholic: Takes the cake (oops I meant cupcake)

For those who have been following Pickle My Fancy will know what a chocoholic I am – and cupcakes is current in-thing with me as is the city in which I live – Dubai. There are cupcake bakeries sprouting all over the city and with many ladies (I don’t WP_20140519_12_07_34_Promean to be sexist, but I have heard of only ladies at the time of me writing this) baking on order at home.

Bespoke cakes for every occasion, regular cupcakes or made to order special ones – the choice is endless. Most of the bakeries do the usual run of the mill cupcakes – red velvet, chocolate, mocha, vanilla, caramel salted etc .. I am bored of these. You have the international brands like Magnolia, WP_20140519_12_05_00_ProHummingbird, home-grown ones like Sugar Daddy, Sweet Stuff, Hey!Sugar, Bloomsbury’s, Kitsch and these are just some that I know of.

But recently I came across Sugaholic in Karama and I have been a devout fan ever since. I have found myself buying their cupcakes with malteser icing and hidden maltersers in the soft, not-overtly sweet chocolate sponge. This is my favourite of their lot. Close on the heels is Nutilious – a Nutella flavoured cupcake. Yes, I have also tried their Classic Ferrero, Flake and Galaxy flavours and each one has been good choices. I have to admit, I have not tried their red velvet – but maybe one of you can try it for me and let me know what you think of it.

The taste and texture are consistent which is why I find myself going back. I have a sweet tooth, but I hate those overtly sweet cupcakes, which begs for a glass of water after you are done. WP_20140519_12_05_50_Pro

I know they do cakes as well as I have seen them displayed, but have yet to try them.

Sugaholic started as a home based bakery in 2010 by two sisters and its first store launched only 2 years ago in 2012.

Each cupcake is Dhs11; Dhs15 (bespoke designs).

Location: Shop 14, Rawdat Al Karama building (very close to Al Ibrahimi Restaurant), Karama  Tel: 04 357 9333

