The Pavilion Downtown: The Bench Brunch

Sometimes when the best laid plans go belly up only to reveal a true treasure, you have to count your lucky stars. We had fotor_(85)planned on going for brunch/lunch to a restaurant but the waiting list was way too long for me to curb my hunger pangs. So we decided to go to The Pavilion in Downtown.

Any what a stroke of luck that was for us! We have visited The Pavilion before but it had closed for renovations and since it has re-opened we have not visited. They have changed it all – the menu, the interiors, I would go as far as to their staff has changed as well.

We were in time to catch what they call The Bench – a brunch which is served only on Saturdays between 10.30am – 2.30pm and costs AED 99. So what is this The Bench all about? To simplify it, we can divide it into 3 parts:  fotor_(98)

  1. From The Bench: you get to eat as much as you want from the spread laid out on the bench. This includes a large spread of savoury tarts and pastries, healthy salads, rolls, sandwiches, yogurt, fresh juices, seeds and nuts, cheeses, cold cuts and fresh juices (green apple, pineapple, orange, watermelon, mango).
  2. From the Kitchen (Choose ANY 1):
  • Pancakes: blueberry compote, cinnamon, orange zest
  • Eggs Benedict:  whole wheat bisquit | sautéed chard, veal bacon or smoked salmon, hollandaise
  • Shakshuka eggs: roast peppers, tomatoes, hummus, labneh, olives, cucumber
  • Two eggs: veal bacon, chicken sausage, mushroom, basked vine tomato, potato
  • Omelette: egg white, spinach, feta cheese, herbs

3.  From the Barista (Choose ANY 1):

  • Espresso
  • Cappuccino
  • Latte
  • English breakfast tea
  • Green tea
  • Chamomile tea

130491141002531122We started with the food from the bench – if you love your cheese – you are in for a treat. If you love your salads – there were 3 different kinds in a jar. The assortment of fresh juice was refreshing and I have admit, I tried 3 of them – mango, orange and watermelon. There was honey, there were croissants, there were sandwiches, there were fruits – gosh the list is endless – needless to say, if I could find things to eat on the bench (fussy ol’me) which took me back for seconds, you have nothing to worry about. Of course with a spread like they have,  you may not get to try everything, you may not like everything – but there are enough choices for you to like quite a lot of it.

130491135248948771

 

fotor_(90)

My dining companion and I went for the same thing from the kitchen – the Two Eggs. We both ordered fried eggs. But as is with all my orders – I like to make changes, and give instructions on how it needs to be cooked. I hate my yolk runny – not even the slightest trickle should escape once my knife cuts in. Me being difficult? Yes!

This was the first restaurant in god knows how long who got my fried eggs perfectly cooked. Honestly, I was so excited when the plate was put in front of me, I actually forgot to take pictures to share with you all – but since there was still some on the plate, I am making do with sharing those pictures.

fotor_(89)

 From the Barista, we ordered a Latte and once again, since I do not enjoy hot drinks, they volunteered to make my Latte with cold milk. Once sugar was added, it was perfect.

What I loved about The Pavilion compared to my previous visits – the staff seemed friendly and obliging. They were attentive and offered suggestions when asked. I like that in a restaurant. More than anything they 130491136354323177did not seem in a hurry for us to finish. It was a nice chilled out brunch, where you could take your time and make the most of what was on offer.

I loved their interiors. But more than anything I loved the green foliage wall (or as they call it the vegetal wall) which gave the indoors and outdoor feel…  I love the little details – the light fixtures, the cosy reading nook, a children’s play area, the open book encased in plexi, the bill presentation (Your Damage)… these little things add to the subtle quirkiness of the place.

130491138192132135 Definitely worth a visit.

The Bench Brunch: AED 99, Saturdays Only from 10.30am – 2.30pm (NOTE: Brunch is also served during Ramadan)

Location: The Pavilion Downtown Dubai, Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Blvd in Downtown Telephone: +971 4 447 7025

