JG KITCHEN: I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE

I need to start this review with a warning!

WARNING: If you visit this restaurant, you will go back – AGAIN and AGAIN! There now, don’t tell me you have not been warned!

If the mountain won’t come to you, you must go to the mountain”.

Almost everyone I know who has studied/lived or visited New York has a story to tell about their experience at a JG Kitchen (after all I am told Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten has 11 JG Kitchens in NY alone, oh and I must not forget to mention his impressive three star Michelin background). I of course have never visited NY – yet (and the other cities which have JG Kitchen), and so I felt like I was missing out. But then again, destiny had other plans for my inevitable encounter with JG Kitchen, and that too on home turf – Dubai. So it was a bit like: “If the mountain won’t come to you, you must go to the mountain” – the only difference here is that I am the ‘mountain’. Or at least that is how I like to think of it!

“There is no love sincerer than the love of food.” ― George Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman

First things first, JG Kitchen is part of Four Season’s Hotel, located on the property but not in the main hotel (it’s basically where Coya and Nusret are). You have to take an elevator to a lower floor – but let me warn you – the lift is slow and gives you a feeling and sound like a spaceship lifting off. If you are more the athlete type, you could always run down the stairs 😉

We were hosted at JG Kitchen but it would be amiss of me not to mention JG Dining Room which is the fine dining concept and has fixed menus. Diving JG Kitchen and JG Diining Room is a beautiful marble top bar.

JG Kitchen can seat about 120 people and is designed to encourage sharing and features an exhibition-style open kitchen. Designed by Frenchman Gwenael Nicolas, the restaurant is adorned with wood, stone and white shells and contemporary chandelier of flowing white fabric, created by Japanese fabric artist, Reiko Sudoh.

FotorCreated“First we eat, then we do everything else.” – M.F.K. Fisher

Let me get into the bite of things – but at the outset let me tell you that the dishes were decided for us by the JG Kitchen team and I am glad they did! So now onto what we ate, what I liked.. and what I am going back to have AGAIN! (I warned you, didn’t I?)

Crudos:

  • Crispy Sea Trout Sushi with a Chipotle-Scallion Sauce and Soy Glaze – I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE!

WP_20150708_21_43_54_Pro

Appetizers

  • Salt and Pepper Shrimp with a Citrus-Chili Dip

WP_20150708_22_13_11_Pro

Salads

  • Kale with Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Lemon, Grated Parmesan, Serrano Chili and Mint – I’LL BE BACK
  • Watermelon and Feta Cheese, Olive Oil

WP_20150708_21_44_26_Pro

Pizza

  • Black Truffle and Fontina Cheese Pizza – I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE!

WP_20150708_22_12_37_Pro

Mains and Sides

  • Roasted Sea Bass, Artichoke Heart  with Mushroom-Yuzu Vinaigrette
  • Caramelized Lamb Chops  with Mushroom “Bolognese”, Broccolini – I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE!
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Grilled Asparagus, Lemon, Olive Oil

MainsFotorCreated

Dessert

  • Salted Caramel Ice Cream Sundae with Candied Peanuts and Popcorn – I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE!
  • Blueberry Lemon Tart
  • Tres Leche Cake with Cherry Meringue – I’LL BE BACK.. FOR MORE!

desertFotorCreated

“Laughter is brightest in the place where the food is.” – Irish proverb

JG Kitchen ticks all the right boxes (according to me) – food, ambiance, service, quality, taste. It’s a place I have already recommended to friends and I know I will be back very very soon! WARNING WARNING WARNING!

PS: Chef Colin Clague (who manages JG Kitchen and JG Dining Room) is on my wish list for CHEF TALK! But the icing on the cake would be to interview Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten himself – one day, some day, I hope!

DISCLOSURE: To be honest and fair I must inform you that I was invited to review J G Kitchen in exchange for a complimentary meal. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are truly my own.

Location: JG Dining Room and JG Kitchen, Restaurant Village, Four Seasons Resort Dubai at Jumeirah Beach, Jumeirah Beach Road, Timing: Currently only open for Dinner Tel: +971 4 343 6118

