QUESTION TIME: WHAT IS YOUR RAINBOW FOOD COLOUR?

Ever since I started this blog, food photography as a category has become more intrinsic in my psyche when it comes to inspiration, creativity, balance, light etc. and I rummage through food images on the internet, on instagram, anywhere and everywhere to see what triggers my creative instinct. There are some that instantly appeal to me, some which grow on me the more I look at them and then some I don’t necessarily get, but I understand the perspective (I have learned never to dislike a photo because in someone’s eyes, it is the perfect shot. I just try and figure out what I like and why and keep that in mind when I next press my shutter button).

But in all this it got me thinking! We are all visual beings. We instantly like what we see or we don’t. Plain and simple. You either like a painting or you don’t. You either like an outfit or you don’t. And that same principle applies to food.

So the question arises – Are our eyes the sense most used when we sit down to eat?

How many times have I heard the Chefs on MasterChef say “We eat with our eyes first”. And although eating is a multi-sensory experience and our enjoyment of food is about more than how it tastes – restaurants invest sums of money into giving the interiors an identity, chefs fuss over artistic perfection on a plate, coffee shops roast beans to seduce passers-by… but which of these senses is boss?

Well truth be told (and hopefully you will agree with me) it is in fact our eyes leading the way, our tongues merely follow. Well it does make sense does it not? Our eyes see the food. They tell the brain what it will taste like via learned and natural responses and we taste what we think we should.

So just for fun (no phsyco babble here), I put some of my rainbow food images into groups and it would be interesting to see which one appeals to you. There is no right or wrong answer! There is not phsyco evaluation at the end, so you don’t have to prep, plan and proceed.

Do write in your comments with the colour that Pickles Your Fancy 🙂

Purple Rain

Purple Rain

Wild Indigo

Wild Indigo

Blue Suede Shoes

Blue Suede Shoes

Evergreen

Evergreen

Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree

Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Ole Oak Tree

Orange Crush

Orange Crush

I'm Painting The Town Red

I’m Painting The Town Red

PS: If my choices are mainly sweet things, forgive me – I do have a sweet tooth 🙂

