Easy Does It: Crack it Open

6tag_101015-084109Eggs Kejriwal has been served at breakfast in my household for as long as I can remember. I never knew how it got introduced – but I remember hearing my Dad asking for it to be made once in a while. If you go on the net, you will find many recipes with slight variations – but the basic premise is the same – its fried eggs served with chilli. I thought I would share my personal take on Kejriwal which is my go-to weekend breakfast dish. It’s simple, it’s easy and it has GARLIC 🙂

WP_20151010_08_18_32_Pro

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 pods of garlic finely chopped (more if you like the taste of garlic)
  • 3 green chillies (more if you like it spicy)
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh coriander
  • Salt to taste

Instructions 

Step 1: Finely chop the green chillies, garlic and coriander.

Step 2: Heat oil in a frying pan and once hot, crack the two eggs into it.

WP_20151010_08_30_33_ProStep 3: Immediately add the green chillies, garlic and coriander to the egg and let it cook

Step 4: Cook the fried eggs the way you like them – sunny side up, eggs over easy, over medium or like I do – very well done (I flip the egg to make sure the yolk is not runny).

Step 5: Add salt and serve.

Tip: I love garlic. I love it a lot. So I roast extra garlic and chilli on the side and add it to the egg.

Extra Tip: Put a slice of cheese on top of the toast before adding the egg to it. I am not such a cheesy person, so I prefer toast with just butter.

