CRUMBLE: A HEALTHY OPTION

Last week, amidst a crazy work event, I dropped in for a Blogger event at Crumble. Just a hop- skip-and-jump from the Dubai Mall metro station, I was grateful for its location as I was car-less that day! I am sure those in and around the Downtown area (Emaar Square) will be pleased to have a dining option which will leave them satiated and yet light enough to go back and get some work done!

You might have been to this location last year, when it was in the guise of a sheesha joint. But make not mistake, this place has since been turned on its head – the interiors are modern and yet has a bit of rough around the edges which I quite like. The menu now promotes clean living, and healthy eating.

FotorCreaAADted

Let me get talking about the food6tag_071215-190229.

For my drink I ordered the Detox drink – Green Apple, Celery, Cucumber, Kale, Lemon, Parsley and Spinach detox fresh juice. Thought I would treat my body as a temple for the day. It was not as ghastly as it could have been considering the very healthy mix of ingredients.

As part of the little bite appetizers we were offered the following, in mini forms (sorry don’t have pictures of them all):

Smashed avocado with buffalo mozzarella and semi-dried tomato – went down a treat

Fig confit with fresh fig slices served on mini toasted bread – it’s not part of the regular menu!!!!

Chicken wrap with mango salsa – quite liked the combination of this.

FotorCreated

Then the food rolled in. We had 4 salads to start with:

Pomelo & Prawn Salad (Green mango, cilantro, mint, shallots, carrots, peanuts, toasted sesame, lime and chili dressing)

Balsamic Roasted Beetroot Salad (pumpkin, sweet potato, chickpeas, grilled halloumi, baby spinach, pumpkin seeds, dressed with sumac vinaigrette)

Super Bowl Salad (Red quinoa, charred corn, shredded kale, pomegranate, picotta, walnuts, medjool dates dressed with jalapeno vinaigrette) – this was by far my favourite salad of the night.

Roasted Peach Salad (baby spinach, rocket leaves, goat cheese, pecan nuts, almond crumble topped with mustard dressing)

FotoXrCreated

For the mains, I ordered the Cod Fish (ragout chickpeas, white kidney beans and cauliflower) which was served with two mammoth sourdough bread slices. This was a meal unto itself. I loved the fish – it was well cooked and I loved the combination with the beans.

FotorCreatXed

I didn’t stay for dessert (assuming there was), but when I looked at the menu I could only find one – Fried oreos with vanilla ice-cream – can’t comment on that as I did not try it – but I believe they need to add a few more options (especially for chocoholics like me).

This might be a ‘healthy’ café, but the portions are pretty good. The breakfast menu looks scrumptious – so one of these days (over a weekend), you might just find me back digging into the skillet baked eggs.

DISCLOSURE: To be honest and fair I must inform you that I was invited to review Crumble in exchange for a complimentary meal. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are truly my own.

Location: 48 Burj Gate, Next to Sofitel Hotel Dubai Downtown, Sheikh Zayed Road, Downtown Dubai, Dubai Closest Metro Station: Dubai Mall/Burj Khalifa Timing: 7:30am – 10pm Tel: +971 4 3465911

 

 

 

