PER TE: GOOD ITALIAN – JUST FOR YOU

This is such a long awaited review, I almost feel I need to revisit just to make sure my memory and taste buds serve me right.

It was a Saturday afternoon which in my mind warranted something outdoors-y and Italian! Yes, a nice warm pasta would do perfectly for me, thank you – or so my mind said. But the question was where? Dubai has many restaurants serving Italian food, I have tried a few but it was time to try a new place. And into my head popped Per Te Ristorante & Café – it had recently opened its new outpost at Business Bay and was all over the news, but I wanted to visit the original Per Te, off Jumeirah Beach Road.

Not the easiest locations to find considering its off the main roads, surrounded by residential villas and has a subtlety about it that might almost let you drive past the curb – so keep a watch out for it.

WP_20160130_13_47_36_Pro

We sat outside – well when you are surrounded by good company the cars passing by seem not to bother you. I did of course pop into the restaurant to see what it looked like – a bit like a conservatory I thought and almost bare – there was a blackboard with some writing, but not enough to liven up the place and give it a cosy feel, even some centre pieces on the bare table tops might have added a dash of hominess!  And that is what Italian food is all about – family and comfort. I did however enjoy spending time doing some browsing through the retail area they have set up selling Italian ingredients like pasta and olive oil.. oh and not to miss out on the Italian chocolates.

WP_20160130_13_32_41_Pro

Let’s talk food shall we?

We started off with complimentary fresh home baked foccaccia bread which was served with a trio of dips – Basil Pesto, Arrabbiata Sauce, and Sundried Tomato. Luckily there were six pieces on the board so each one of us got a fair share – but if not, I can promise you I would have fought for the last one, just to dip it into what was left of the sauces.

WP_20160130_13_01_02_Pro

For our starters we ordered two soups – the Zuppa di funghi – creamy wild mushroom soup with mascarpone and the Zuppa di pesce con fregola sarda – seafood soup with Sardinian fregola. The mushroom soup was thick and hearty – the perfect antidote for a sore throat. The seafood soup was delicious. Loved how all the seafood elements came together.

FotorCreated

For our mains we had the Risotto ai frutti di mare – Carnaroli rice with tiger prawns, clams, mussels, calamari, cherry tomatoes and asparagus and the Penne all’arrabbiata (not sure why they have the words ‘angry pasta’ next to it though) – penne pasta in a spicy tomato sauce. You will always find me ordering the Penne Arrabbiata at any new Italian restaurant I go to – with some added chicken – this is the singular dish (but on occasion I have been known to stray and order a Margherita pizza) on which I base my judgement when it comes to Italian food.

aaWP_20160130_13_26_42_Pro

Risotto ai frutti di mare

 

 

The risotto was perfectly done – the tiger prawns, clams were  cooked just right and the asparagus perfectly crunchy. My arrabbiata was perfectly cooked – loved it – but I did have to add chilli flakes to the mix to get it to the spice level I enjoy – but then that is me and my taste buds.

sssWP_20160130_13_08_28_Pro

Penne all’arrabbiata

This meal would not have ended more perfectly than with the Tiramisu. Superb.

cccWP_20160130_13_33_25_Pro

My overall review of Per Te is: food wise – brilliant. Décor wise – could do with some cosy-ing up. Location wise – with Per Te opening at Business Bay (I haven’t yet visited it), I am sure it will be more convenient for people to find and visit, although I do hope that the Jumeriah one continues to get its footfall especially within the neighbourhood and those visiting around the area – it would be a shame if they did not.

WP_20160130_12_51_59_Pro

Location: Per Te, Villa no. 54, Street 12c, Behind Jumeirah Plaza, Jumeirah 1 (if you need more details of the location here you go – if you are coming towards Dubai on Jumeirah Beach Road, you will pass Village Mall on your right, go straight and turn off after the petrol pump and just before Tim Hortons. Take the first right and then the first left – you will find it on the curb) Tel: +971 4 344 6455

Per Te has opened on the Ground Floor of the Bay Avenue building (Business Bay). Tel +971 4 437 1685.

