TGI FRIDAYS: NOW A VEGGIE’S DELIGHT

I believe all, if not most of us have friends who are ‘pure’ vegetarians (as we Indians like to label them) – those who don’t eat meat (in any form) – there are different levels of how ‘vegetarian’ you want to be – but I will leave that to one’s personal choice. So when deciding where to dine when you have a vegetarian in your midst can make it a bit difficult.

I remember TGI Fridays as one such place we went to a few years ago, and all that my vegetarian friend could order were fries and corn on the cob – not the best choices – considering we (the others) were devouring our non-vegetarian options without any guilt. Walking out of TGI Fridays that day with a full satisfied tummy, I got a telling off for the lack of empathy towards the ‘hungry’ soul that did not get ‘anything’ to eat –  little did I realize that I would not be returning anytime soon!

IMG_7713

But all that has changed as off last week!!!!! Vegetarians just got eight new reasons to visit TGI Fridays. Under their new Vegetarian Delights menu vegetarians have no reason to complain about the lack of choice at the restaurant.

I was invited to try some of the dishes at the launch of the new menu, and I have to say that they have considered (and shown more empathy than I did on that fateful lunch date a few years ago) offering a choice – from a burger to pasta, from a wrap to a chimichanga – TGI Fridays has just got put back on the restaurant list for my friends and I. Oh! nearly forgot to mention – the veg portions are humongous too.

I kicked off my wait for the food (which I have to point out took longer than I had expected) with a chocolate milkshake.. nothing new here – just thought I would mention it.

IMG_7704

Lets get talking about what my Vegetarian friends can now find themselves choosing from:

Sizzling Cottage Cheese (AED 51): Marinated cottage cheese chargrilled and served sizzling over a bed of grilled onions, bell peppers, green beans, mushrooms and tomato wedges with Spanish rice served with guacamole, sour cream, pico de gallo, Colby cheese and hot flour tortilla.

IMG_7716

Blackened Cottage Cheese Spinach Alfredo Pasta (AED 51): Rich, creamy fettuccine alfredo and baby spinach topped with a New Orleans-styled blackened cottage cheee patty, fresh tomato and green onions.

IMG_7718

Jalapeno Roasted Chimichanga Vegetable (AED 41): Assorted vegetables, green chillis and cheese wrapped in a flour tortilla, friend crisp and golden. Topped with ranchero sauce and melted Monterey jack and Colby cheeses and served with sour cream and guacamole, pico de gallo and Spanish rice.

IMG_7720

Potato and Corn Kebab (AED 31): Corn and potato kebab with a hint of coriander seared to perfection with Spanish rice served with warm tortilla, picked vegetables and zesty green yogurt chutney.

IMG_7722

Grilled Vegetable Tostados (AED 31): Crisp tostadas topped with fresh guacamole, grilled vegetables, fresh eggplant, zucchini and bell peppers, crisp romaine lettuce, queso fresco and pico de gallo and garnished with chopped cilantro and lime wedge.

IMG_7724

Jalapeno Cheese Spring Roll (AED 21): A mix of feta cheese and spicy jalapenos spring roll friend golden and drizzled with honey and red pepper served with rocket.

IMG_7715

Cottage Cheese Burger (AED 41): [Did not try this]

Veggie Wrapper (AED 41): [Did not try this]

Overall, I believe that with the addition of these vegetarian options, the TGI Friday option now feels more complete. Their portions are big, so sharing might be a good way to go about trying out the options. I did particularly like the chimichanga and the pasta options.

Service-wise I still believe they need to pull their socks up. I have had issues with the service promptness at the Jumeirah restaurant before. This time was no different – but I could put that down to the kitchen trying to keep up with multiple dishes ordered by the various bloggers at the menu launch – although I am not quite sure why my milkshake took more than 20 minutes (and I was the first one there)!  Hopefully they will iron this issue out soon!

So the only question now left to ask is, “When are we going to TGIF next?”

DISCLOSURE: To be honest and fair I must inform you that I was invited to review TGI Fridays Vegetarian Menu at Jumeirah in exchange for a complimentary meal. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are truly my own.

IMG_7728

Locations:  TGI Fridays

  • Level 2, The Dubai Mall Tel: +971 4 330 8084  Open: 10 am – 12 midnight (or till the mall is open)
  • Next to GAP, Level 1, Deira City Centre Tel: +971 4 2329227 Open: 11 am – 11 pm
  • Skywalk Food Court, Level 2, Festival City Mall Tel: +071 4 5509121 Open: 10 am – 10 pm
  • China Court, Ibn Battuta Mall Open: 12 noon – 12 midnight (or till the mall is open)
  • Besides Magic Planet, Level 2, Mall of the Emirates Tel: +971 4 3410030 Open: 10 am – 12 midnight (or till the mall is open)
  • Opposite Dubai Marine Beach Resort, Jumeirah Beach Road, Jumeirah 1 Tel: +971 4 3440360   Open: 11 am – 11 pm
  • Crown Plaza Hotel, Sheikh Zayed Road Tel: +971 4 3329100 Open: 12 pm – 12 midnight
  • Garhoud Tel: +971 4 2820284 Open 11 am – 12 midnight

 

 

