Iftar: Eat Wisely

Over the next month, our eating habits will change. As a non-faster, I know I tend to drink less water at office as I am uneasy doing so in front of those fasting, and to go to a secluded place in the office to have a sip, is just way too much effort (I know that’s bad/lazy on my part). I know I will leave office at about 2pm, head home (via a visit to Choitrams deli to pick up food) and have lunch. But what I also know is that during the month-long Ramadan period, I will enjoy a few Iftars with friends – the meal when the fasters break their fast.

A few of the Iftar I have been to in the past have had a few things in common – it’s usually buffet style offering different food stations – Italian, Indian, Arabic etc. There is a whole lot of choice and very often, the live cooking stations have people non-so-patiently backed up waiting in line (especially the popular ones like pasta or shawarama).

I was lucky to have been able to cut the que and get invited to have a sneak-taste at two Iftars in Dubai. I am going to let the food pictures do the talking….

Restaurant: A.O.C. French Brasserie

Hotel: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Location: The Walk on Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR)

Price: AED 140 per person including Ramadan juices and water. Iftar will be complimentary for children up to the age of 12 with two children free per paying couple and half price from 13 to 17 years old.

Time: From sunset – 10pm

 

IMG_7669

IMG_7659

IMG_7669

IMG_7649

Lamb Ouzi

IMG_7651

Pineapple Kunafa

IMG_7656

 

Restaurant: Seasonal Tastes

Hotel: The Westin Dubai, Al Habtoor City

Location: Al Habtoor City (Second Interchange, Sheikh Zayed Road)

Price: AED 185 per person inclusive of soft beverages. For children from 5 to 12 years old the price is AED 95, while children under 5 eat for free.

Time: From sunset – 11pm

IMG_7677

 

 

IMG_7676

IMG_7687

Calamari Ghee Roast

IMG_7691

IMG_7681

 

IMG_7694

IMG_7696

IMG_7695

What a Waste

Something that always concerns me is the amount of food that is left over after a buffet, more so during Ramadan. I know there are initiatives in Dubai, where hotels have tied up with charities or Government organizations (UAE Food Bank) to donate the food which is then distributed to those who need it. My hope this Ramadan is more restaurants adopt such initiatives and hopefully continue it during the rest of the year.

Ramadan Kareem!

#OnlyTakeWhatYouCanEat #Kthxbai

DISCLOSURE: To be honest and fair I must inform you that I was invited to review both the Iftars in exchange for a complimentary meal. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are truly my own.

