Seaview Restaurant: For the love of seafood and a view

6 months ago Dubai got a new eatery. It’s a seafood joint that overlooks the harbour. So what’s new you ask? Well the choice in WP_20140614_14_07_53_Prothe past has been either a fancy and pricey restaurant at one of the hotels on the beach fronts or the ever popular Bu’Qtair where it’s a quick eat-and-leave kind of place as there are way too many people hovering around waiting to take your seat. So with Seaview Restaurant we have a new option for laid back casual dining that does not dent your pocket – and it all comes with a spectacular view.

fotor_WP_20140614_13_11_24_Pro

 Unfortunately our visit was in the afternoon in the Dubai summer so sitting outside was not even an option we considered (although I cannot wait to go back in the cooler climes) and so the inside suited us just fine. When we got there it was a bit quiet with a couple of tables occupied (but with this secret gem’s location now revealed I can assure you it won’t be long before you need to start making reservations).

The menu fits onto an A4 sized paper – not elaborate but blends different cuisine options to give it variety. For the non-fish eater the choice is limited to chicken and if you are a vegetarian then the choice is extremely limited. Seafood is the only way to go here according to me.

We started by ordering the Haryali Hamour Tikka (AED 45), marinated to perfection with a green tinge, this starter was succulent WP_20140614_13_32_08_Proand as soon as your fork dived into the tikka you knew it was fresh. Accompanied with a green minty chutney I devoured this dish.
For our main course I ordered the Fish Curry (AED 25; it’s listed under Side Orders) with steamed rice (AED 12). The fish in the curry is based on what the catch of the day is, so it can WP_20140614_13_42_28_Provary. When I had mine, it was King Fish – I could not have chosen better. Of course along with my meal I ordered fried pappad. The curry has a tangy taste and is slightly spicy. But it was good and the portion was perfect for me.
My dining partner ordered the Polenta Crusted Mullet in Oyster Sauce (AED 45). I was not expecting the whole fish to be plonked WP_20140614_13_41_09_Prodown on our table. I thought it might come in smaller pieces. It was coated and deep fried and did not have any spices so was pretty bland. The quantity was way too much so we brought home a doggie bag.

My conclusion while ordering at Seaview Restaurant – stick with the Indian sounding dishes. The marination, spice level (can be altered to suit your palate) and taste is spot on. Although I have heard that the crab cakes and prawn tempura starters are fantastic. Something to look forward to the next time we visit.

FotorCreatedSeaview has a lot going for it – it has good fresh fish, friendly staff, good choice of cuisines (although I will stick with the Indian choices or the ones I read that come recommended by fellow bloggers), fantastic view of the harbour with boats and all and above all, they let you enjoy your food.
I can’t wait for the outdoor weather to set in …

        WP_20140614_13_06_32_Pro

Location: Umm Suqeim 1, Fishing Harbour, Off Jumeirah Beach Road [Take the 2nd right (Street 9a) after KFC & Mirage Islamic Art Centre on Jumeirah Beach Road and follow the road to the end]. Open from 12noon – 12 midnight. Tel: +971 4 3335552

