Tom & Serg: Urban Aussie inspired cafe

The story goes: In 2011 the paths of Tom Arnel and Sergio Lopez crossed. Tom from Melbourne (Australia) with a penchant for fotor_WP_20140628_13_39_33_Pro(1)
making good food and Sergio a foodie from Madrid (Spain) took 2 years to introduce Dubai to Tom & Serg.

Opened in 2013, Tom & Serg is located in a huge warehouse off Sheikh Zayed road in the rather unlikely Al Quoz area surrounded by  hardware stores, car showrooms and an indoor football play area. Not necessarily the easiest to find considering there is just a mere hint of signage on the front fascia.

The first thing that struck me as we walked in was its sheer size!! The warehouse-style interior is something I have seen before in Dubai but what I liked was the carefree, airy with natural light streaming in. The two leveled restaurant has a peeling130497373937296624 paint wall appeal, chalk-scribbled blackboards, exposed ceilings and hanging greenery – a style which I assume is keeping with the theme of the art galleries in Al Serkal which is close by.

This eatery has become popular (thanks to blabber mouths like me who like to share   interesting food gems) so expect a wait of 20 minutes before you are seated.

The menu is short and sweet but it’s unlikely anyone will struggle to find something to eat. Based on the time of day, you can chose from their AM Food, All Day, PM Food and S’ Got Sides.

For our drinks we ordered the strawberry cheesecake and double chocolate milkshakes (AED 24 each). I loved how they were 130497368941254162presented in the old fashioned milk bottles with a stripy straw. The milkshakes were alright, the taste for me was that of a mediocre chocolate shake. I think the strawberry fared better. I am a sucker for things presented quirky-ily – so I just had to order the only freshly squeezed juice option they had – orange (AED 20) which came in a mason jar. A small bottle of water at AED 14 steers you towards ordering coffee, juice or milkshakes – I guess that was the idea behind the pricing in the first place.

Looking around, most diners had ordered burgers so my lunching partner decided to go with what looked like the tried and tested option – The Tom&Serg Burger (Single: AED 41, Double: AED 51). I on the other hand went for something quite different. I chose the Grilled Chicken Satay which came with coconut rice, sticky sauce and sweet potato crisps (AED 55).

My lunching companion’s burger was good, not great – just good. I think as we saw so many burgers making the rounds of various tables, you felt that it was going to be 130497372974980790something that was going to give you a feeling of ‘’this is the best burger ever” – well I guess this was not meant to be. I on the other hand had no complaints on the Chicken Satay dish. I licked my plate clean. The chicken was tender and the combination of the rice, crispy sweet potato was superb.

With no space left in our tummies for dessert, we bade our farewell freeing up a table for a group of 4 patiently waiting hungry grateful customers.

Over all I loved the ambiance and the service of the staff. I also liked the menu – limited yet broad. The prices are on the higher side but in line with competition.

Would I go there again? Most definitely – but this time to try the breakfast.

Location: 15 A Street, Al-Joud Center (round the corner from Ace Hardware, between Interchange 3 and 4, off Shekikh Zayed Road), Al Quoz Tel: +971 56 474 6812 Open from 8 am – 4 pm http://www.tomandserg.com/  

